everyday sexism

My local newspaper is one of many that did this. Notice “salutes wife’s achievement” is  and “former first lady.” Not former Senator, not former Secretary of State. I don’t agree with all of Clinton’s politics and understand that others disagree with more than I do, even enough not to vote for her, but you have a sack over your head if you don’t think there is sexism in this race. And, just to be clear, I learned from a friend that it was a woman night editor who made the editorial decision to run it this way, offering a lame excuse about what photos were available (as if you don’t have stock photos of the presumptive party nominee). And that editor provided no excuse for referring to her solely in terms of her relation to Bill. Gender bias isn’t just a male thing.
ClintonWSJ 2smaller

And, just to be clear, here is what they published at the comparable point for Trump. They used a stock photo.

TrumpWSJ

Author: olderwoman

I'm a sociology professor but not only a sociology professor. It isn't hard to figure out my real name if you want to, but I keep it out of this blog because I don't want my name associated with it in a Google search. Although I never write anything in a public forum like a blog that I'd be ashamed to have associated with my name (and you shouldn't either!), it is illegal for me to use my position as a public employee to advance my religious or political views, and the pseudonym helps to preserve the distinction between my public and private identities. The pseudonym also helps to protect the people I may write about in describing public or semi-public events I've been involved with.

2 thoughts on “everyday sexism”

  1. I agree about “First Lady” but disagree about the photo. It’s a newspaper, not a history book. They used a news photo, from the event. They won’t put a big stock photo on page 1. It’s the DNC’s fault for not providing a better photo op of Hillary. (I think the Trump photo is from the previous day of the convention .)

    Like

    1. Hillary Clinton was referred to in the subheading as former first lady but not former senator or former secretary of state; however, prior senators and prior secretaries of state have received major party presidential nominations and have been elected president, so the never-happened-before major party presidential nomination of a former first lady is more newsworthy than the equivalent nomination of a former senator or the equivalent nomination of a former secretary of state.

      The subheading might be due to everyday sexism, but it’s worth noting that the equivalent subheading for Donald Trump was not in reference to his business or media accomplishments but instead was in terms of how others perceived his chances (“one-time long-shot candidate”). That is consistent with a focus on newsworthiness, given that, like Trump, other major party presidential nominees have had business and media experience.

      As for the photo, no speaker from Tuesday’s RNC convention was as newsworthy as a former president.

      Like

Leave a Reply

