graduate student associations

Although it has had a teaching assistant’s union since the 1970s, my department has just formed a Sociology Graduate Students Association in the past two years. They are interested in learning about the structure and functions of graduate student associations at other programs.Is there a sociology graduate student association on your campus? What does it do? How is it structured?

Our students would also like to identify graduate students at other institutions who could tell them about the how the graduate student association works in your department. I think this is especially so if you believe it works well. If you would be a good contact or can suggest one, drop a comment and I’ll email you for more information. I can see your email address if you comment.

Author: olderwoman

I'm a sociology professor but not only a sociology professor. It isn't hard to figure out my real name if you want to, but I keep it out of this blog because I don't want my name associated with it in a Google search. Although I never write anything in a public forum like a blog that I'd be ashamed to have associated with my name (and you shouldn't either!), it is illegal for me to use my position as a public employee to advance my religious or political views, and the pseudonym helps to preserve the distinction between my public and private identities. The pseudonym also helps to protect the people I may write about in describing public or semi-public events I've been involved with.

3 thoughts on “graduate student associations”

  1. I’m a grad student in Statistics. Our grad student association mostly organizes events: we have several major social events throughout the year, a weekly happy hour on Fridays, parts of the visit day for admitted students, and other lunches and seminars as the opportunities come up. We also run an annual t-shirt design competition and sell them to help fund some of our social events. If this sounds relevant and useful, I’m happy to be a contact.

    Like

  2. My experiences:

    1. Chicago – the GSA at Chicago has varied greatly in its history. Early in the 20th century, it actually published sociology, like the first English translation of Simmel. During my time, it was in charge of running an annual conference and social events. They also helped with exam prep. I don’t know what it does now.

    2. IU – they organize social events, have their own meetings, and host visiting students. They also nominate one or two grad students to be on the executive committee, which is our own governing unit (we don’t have routine faculty meetings).

    Like

Leave a Reply

