northwestern is hiring, pt 2

BTW, at the blog party at ASA, someone called my attention to the fact that Northwestern’s ad for a tenure-line assistant professor said something about a preference for someone whose work used quantitative methods, with additional language about appreciating methodological synergies that I read as saying “we want someone who uses quantitative methods but isn’t a jerk about it.” As parties to that conversation know, I was extremely surprised to learn of this wording for the job ad; indeed, I didn’t believe it until someone brought it up on their phone and showed me.

While I am in no sense a spokesperson for our department or this search committee, my understanding is that the wording of the ad was a simple mistake; that it is a truly and fully open search with respect to methods and area of specialization; and that the ad has since been edited to reflect this. (If the last point is not correct, somebody let me know.)

Author: jeremy

I am the Ethel and John Lindgren Professor of Sociology and a Faculty Fellow in the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University.

3 thoughts on “northwestern is hiring, pt 2”

Leave a Reply

