big data, big cities datathon august 15 — sign up this week

The day before ASA begins, August 15, three graduate students, Laura Nelson, Laura Norén, and my advisee Alex Hanna, are hosting a pre-ASA datathon at the D-Lab in Berkeley. From the website: we are holding a datathon to examine contemporary urban issues – especially around housing – with municipal data from cities including San Francisco, New York, Seattle, Boston, Austin, and Chicago.

The hacking itself begins on the 15th, with presentations and judging at the Hilton on the 16th. They are expecting a good mix of participants from both academia and the private sector, and will have a mix of judges from academia, industry, and government. Head to the website for more details on the schedule and how to sign up.

Author: olderwoman

I'm a sociology professor but not only a sociology professor. It isn't hard to figure out my real name if you want to, but I keep it out of this blog because I don't want my name associated with it in a Google search. Although I never write anything in a public forum like a blog that I'd be ashamed to have associated with my name (and you shouldn't either!), it is illegal for me to use my position as a public employee to advance my religious or political views, and the pseudonym helps to preserve the distinction between my public and private identities. The pseudonym also helps to protect the people I may write about in describing public or semi-public events I've been involved with.

8 thoughts on “big data, big cities datathon august 15 — sign up this week”

  1. It’s too bad this is the same day as the computational social science mini-conference, although this has come to be a general issue with pre/post-conference event planning that will presumably only be settled by instituting pre-pre-conferences or taking the plunge of scheduling over a day of the conference itself.

    Like

    1. Yes, this is unfortunate. We’ll have to do better next year.

      But luckily we’ll be having our judging session the next day at the Hilton. Folks who couldn’t come to the datathon itself can see the projects that came of it.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Jeremy is the one who mentioned the computational social science conference. I don’t know about it. My FB feed says Jeremy is in Peru just having had an epic adventure involving a con artist taxi driver, the police, and missing electronics, so I’m not sure he’ll be answering this query any time soon. But you never know. Still, if I wanted the answer to this question I’d try Googling it, unless some other scatterplotter knows.

      Like

Leave a Reply

