gamify your life!

GamificationSixWeekScores

(our last six weeks of scores under our life-gamification system)

New Years’ Day is my favorite holiday, for the same reason that one of my favorite things about living in Wisconsin was that it’s state motto is “Forward!” But I have a vast accumulated record of sucking at New Years’ Resolution. My beloved is more disciplined than I am, but has done only moderately better. And yet: despite our weakness with big resolutions, we’ve had a great run of success in 2014 with a radical alternative.

We don’t have an official name for it, because have been using variants like “Our Life Gamification System.” It’s inspired by various zeitgeist ideas about trying to harness principles of games for purposes of personal improvement.

The simple version of the idea is that every day we have a goal of scoring a 100 points. The non-simple version… that takes more to explain. Plus, it sounds INSANE. In my next post I’ll start to explain it. Not that it will change your life or anything, but I’ll testify that it is improving mine right now.

Author: jeremy

I am the Ethel and John Lindgren Professor of Sociology and a Faculty Fellow in the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University.

2 thoughts on “gamify your life!”

Leave a Reply

