#tbt: the dirty secret of analyzing survey data

analytic-goldilocks-diagram-from-2004

I posted this drawing on my blog over ten years ago. IT IS STILL TRUE.

Author: jeremy

I am the Ethel and John Lindgren Professor of Sociology and a Faculty Fellow in the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University.

1 thought on “#tbt: the dirty secret of analyzing survey data”

  1. Sigh, I’m afraid I got my project up above the “stop here” level about five years ago. But your “interesting, counterintuitive, & somewhat compelling results” level unfortunately (this is your younger self, I realize) helps reinforce the problem you have been discussing with the hurricane posts, to wit the excessive value sociologists place on saying something novel (counterintuitive) versus providing solid demonstration of solid facts that maybe we could base some coherent theory on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

