known issues with this blog

1.  That gray bar below the banner.  It would be the menu if we were a blog that had separate “about” and other pages.  I do not know how to get rid of it.  Soon, it will drive me to weep; shortly thereafter, it will drive me insane.

2.  The sidebars are all screwed up for mobile devices, essentially blocking direct access to the full site.

3.  The sidebar widget advertising other blogs are gone.  I could put it back.  But from our stats, it didn’t seem like they were getting much use anyway.  It could be that they are too far down the page for anyone to care.  I would prefer this template with space for widgets on the left and right side–so stuff wouldn’t be pushed so far down the page.  However, the Sandbox theme supporting the site is a one-sidebar theme.  Incidentally, as far as I can tell, the one-sidebar is also a contributing cause of issue #2, because basically the mobile phone wants widget programming in the other sidebar from what Sandbox actually uses.

Author: jeremy

I am the Ethel and John Lindgren Professor of Sociology and a Faculty Fellow in the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University.

8 thoughts on “known issues with this blog”

  1. Yeah, that’s annoying, I agree. I’ll see if I can do anything about that. Alex H came through as the savoir who vanquished the gray bar, so at least that won’t be up there to taunt me any longer.

    Like

  2. Other known issues include:

    -bloggers go on extended, unexplained absences,
    -blog posts are sometimes about topics you personally are not interested in, and
    -this blog does not fill the sociology-sized hole in your heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

