starting a new job?

This post in the Chronicle has great advice for people starting their first job. It reminded me that it has been five years now since I posted my own advice to new assistant professors, so with your indulgence, I’m linking to it again. I’ve been told often that it is well worth reading if you are a new assistant professor.

Author: olderwoman

I'm a sociology professor but not only a sociology professor. It isn't hard to figure out my real name if you want to, but I keep it out of this blog because I don't want my name associated with it in a Google search. Although I never write anything in a public forum like a blog that I'd be ashamed to have associated with my name (and you shouldn't either!), it is illegal for me to use my position as a public employee to advance my religious or political views, and the pseudonym helps to preserve the distinction between my public and private identities. The pseudonym also helps to protect the people I may write about in describing public or semi-public events I've been involved with.

2 thoughts on “starting a new job?”

  1. I love this advice, but if I had to compare the two, I would pick OW’s over the Chronicles. Those social tips are exactly what new professors need to know.

    Like

Leave a Reply

