domestic violence & employment bleg

I got an email from a former student who is now working in an employment program and asked me about research on the problem that victims of domestic violence sometimes lose their jobs due to victimhood. She’s asking me for relevant research. We know about Matt Desmond’s work on victims of domestic violence getting evicted, but I’m not the right person to know the research on the employment link. So, Scatterplotters, can you help?

Author: olderwoman

I'm a sociology professor but not only a sociology professor. It isn't hard to figure out my real name if you want to, but I keep it out of this blog because I don't want my name associated with it in a Google search. Although I never write anything in a public forum like a blog that I'd be ashamed to have associated with my name (and you shouldn't either!), it is illegal for me to use my position as a public employee to advance my religious or political views, and the pseudonym helps to preserve the distinction between my public and private identities. The pseudonym also helps to protect the people I may write about in describing public or semi-public events I've been involved with.

4 thoughts on “domestic violence & employment bleg”

  1. Here’s a quote I’ve used before that might offer a clearer picture of how navigating the criminal justice system can make it hard for victims of DV to keep their jobs:

    “To appear in front of the judge for numerous one to four minute hearings, and one 13-minute hearing, [the victim] has taken half and whole days off work on several occasions. Without knowing how long she will be waiting on Thursday, coupled with sudden notice to appear for subsequent hearings, it has been difficult to give her employer sufficient notice that she will be absent” (Adams 2009:206).

    Adams, Jill. 2009. “The Civil Restraining Order Application Process.” Ethnography 10(2):185 –211.


  2. Here are a few citations. I’m not claiming that these are the best or most recent, but they might be a start.

    Riger, S., S.L. Staggs, and P. Schewe. 2004. “Intimate Partner Violence as an Obstacle to Employment among Mothers Affected by Welfare Reform.” Journal of Social Issues 60: 801 – 818.

    Tolman, R. 2011. “Impact of Intimate Partner Violence on Economic Well-Being”


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s