personally, i would classify the zombie apocalypse as an ‘unreal dystopia’

I just noticed the ASA meeting logo. Am I the only one who thinks the font and hand coming out of the ground looks like the opening screen for a zombie movie? Just replace the upside-down globe with a brain and I’m there, with popcorn.

(Also, discussion over at orgtheory about the Official ASA 2012 app. There’s some unfortunate technical snarkiness about how it isn’t really a “mobile” app because in order to work it will need to be hooked up to one of the various Internet tubes that will be set up around convention center.)

Author: jeremy

I am the Ethel and John Lindgren Professor of Sociology and a Faculty Fellow in the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University.

12 thoughts on “personally, i would classify the zombie apocalypse as an ‘unreal dystopia’”

  1. NB: I am all for web pages. I have had one since 1995. It’s good that there’s a conference website with useful links and up-to-date information. Excellent.

    But this is just silly: “Smart-phone (and tablet) users worldwide can download the meeting app before they arrive in Denver. With the new app, they will have real-time information related to the meeting. The mobile app is available for iOS (iPhone/iPad), Android and BlackBerry platforms.”

    Maybe there is more on the way, I don’t know.

    Like

  2. I think we should start an angry petition demanding Windows Phone compatibility. It’s not fair! Of course, I’m still hoping that I win one of these as the prize in the member-get-a-member contest.

    Like

  3. Hmmm. To me the logo looks more like a volleyball setup with the globe.

    I didn’t try the “app.” Do you think they’ll really be able to keep the web page updated and include room numbers?

    Like

    1. I think the green hand is part of what makes me think “zombie,” even though only alien zombies are green. Which would also make sense given the hand size relative to the planet. From the looks of it, the mothership is parked somewhere directly above the North Pole.

      I do think that if they have a nice working mobile platform for viewing the schedule it would be a really great innovation whether it is a webpage or an app. And I presume that whoever they contracted with for this did not tell them they were making an app.

      Like

  4. A Real Dystopia is that “everyone can play an instrument” dance party. I would rather face zombies than a room full of sociologists with kazoos.

    Like

    1. I didn’t know they were having a bring-your-own-instrument dance party. Excellent: I haven’t had an occasion to play my twelve-tone air-raid siren since my hearing returned.

      Like

    2. You have to know all us jokers are going to end up at that dance party. But before I do, I want to note that a DJ that “takes request” barely earned the title.

      Like

Leave a Reply

