december distractions

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. December is hard on academic women. We’re all just trying to keep our heads above water, but that doesn’t mean there is no joy in the Month of Fail. For our family, Kid is on a new hockey team, and I don’t know about you, but I wouldn’t want to be that goalie he’s staring down (he’s #6).

I admit that during the game, I was jotting down both a Christmas gift list and a grocery list, but unlike years past, this time I had a smile on my face.

4 thoughts on “december distractions”

  1. I hear you. I don’t know what your situation is, but for me, tenure + a 7-year-old is five thousand times easier than pre-tenure and a 4-year-old, that is for sure. Still a challenge, but that was just crazy.

    Like

  2. I can’t imagine you *without* a smile on your face, Tina. But I’m sure it happens. :)

    I’m hoping to get tenure right before the teens hit. I was lucky that B was in school by the time I started my tenure-track job. I didn’t plan to do grad school with a kid – or anything that followed, really – but I certainly lucked out with timing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

