rising expectations?

Greetings from Audible.com, Thank you for your recent inquiry. Did your contact with Customer Care exceed your expectation?

If yes, please click here: [link]

If no, please click here: [link]

So if I expected a rapid and complete resolution of my problem by a friendly and well-trained representative and that’s what I got, do I click “no”? If I expected a slow, incompetent and surly response and it was even worse than I thought it would be, do I click yes?

I assume people on the other end are getting bonuses for yes clicks. Do I just ignore the question actually asked and decide whether to award a bonus?

 

 

Author: olderwoman

I'm a sociology professor but not only a sociology professor. It isn't hard to figure out my real name if you want to, but I keep it out of this blog because I don't want my name associated with it in a Google search. Although I never write anything in a public forum like a blog that I'd be ashamed to have associated with my name (and you shouldn't either!), it is illegal for me to use my position as a public employee to advance my religious or political views, and the pseudonym helps to preserve the distinction between my public and private identities. The pseudonym also helps to protect the people I may write about in describing public or semi-public events I've been involved with.

2 thoughts on “rising expectations?”

  1. I had a similar reaction to a recent survey of alumni who attended reunion at my undergraduate institution. One question actually asked (and I’m paraphrasing here): “Most alumni don’t know that the college doesn’t pay any of the costs associated with reunion. Given what you now know, did you feel the reunion registration costs provided good value?”

    They made the mistake of putting a text box after the forced choice options.

    Like

  2. Some survey firm must have a heck of a sales staff. For my recent weekend out of town, I got three surveys from the airline (two regarding whether I was happy with how they’d dealt with their failure to provide an airplane on time and one that seemed to be a random flight survey) and a survey from the hotel I stayed at. All of a sudden everybody wants to know how happy I am with their service.

    Like

Leave a Reply

