everett hughes fieldwork syllabus

There’s a bit of a discussion over at orgtheory on the Venkatesh Slate piece. I suspect I’m going to get hammered for suggesting that the Chicago School didn’t care that much about European theorizing (particularly Park and Simmel — yes, I know Park studied with Simmel in Germany at the turn of the century!). Still this led me to go back to the 1947 ethnography syllabus I have of Everett Hughes. Iterations of this are likely with the likes of Goffman, Becker, and Gans encountered in either their classes or mentorship. I thought you all might enjoy. Here it is.

2 thoughts on “everett hughes fieldwork syllabus”

Leave a Reply

