policing a protest

I thought some of you would enjoy this local color on police-protester relations in Madison. From the article’s conclusion: “Members of the national media who were present to cover the arrests complained that there was no story here. They’re missing the point. The Governor ordered the Capitol closed and everyone in it ejected. Protestors didn’t leave, and the police didn’t make them. As I prepared to leave, I passed a few dozen protestors waiting in line for free pizza. As with everything else the protestors have done in the last two weeks, the line was peaceful.” By the way, the local group blog from which this comes, http://www.dane101.com is a good source of on the ground reports.

Author: olderwoman

I'm a sociology professor but not only a sociology professor. It isn't hard to figure out my real name if you want to, but I keep it out of this blog because I don't want my name associated with it in a Google search. Although I never write anything in a public forum like a blog that I'd be ashamed to have associated with my name (and you shouldn't either!), it is illegal for me to use my position as a public employee to advance my religious or political views, and the pseudonym helps to preserve the distinction between my public and private identities. The pseudonym also helps to protect the people I may write about in describing public or semi-public events I've been involved with.

1 thought on “policing a protest”

  1. And here’s a local news account that gives more information about exactly what happened: http://host.madison.com/ct/news/local/govt-and-politics/article_0e256e10-434c-11e0-b494-001cc4c002e0.html

    Update this morning: The Dept of Administration has ordered that no protesters be allowed into the Capitol. https://www.facebook.com/pages/TAA/282239722567 or the original source http://host.madison.com/wsj/news/local/govt-and-politics/article_549b88ea-4359-11e0-bf9e-001cc4c002e0.html
    You now have to have an appointment with someone to be allowed in the building.

    Like

Leave a Reply

