further adventures in public sociology

So I recently decided to move beyond the college newspaper and try writing a series on elite education for GOOD magazine. I have a few articles drafted, which will come out in the months to come. And it’s been interesting trying to say something in 800 words that is both social science-like without being social science-light. I’m not sure my first post succeeds. Something interesting happens when I start to write for a no professional audience (you, GOOD, the college paper, etc.). I try and be more provocative than I normally would. It’s an interesting experience, especially as I often find myself muttering about new sensationalism. We’ll see what the future series holds for me.

1 thought on “further adventures in public sociology”

Leave a Reply

