technical support

The scatterplot banner seems to have gone bad — the link is still there but the scatterplot logo has disappeared. Let us know if you know how to fix this.

Author: olderwoman

I'm a sociology professor but not only a sociology professor. It isn't hard to figure out my real name if you want to, but I keep it out of this blog because I don't want my name associated with it in a Google search. Although I never write anything in a public forum like a blog that I'd be ashamed to have associated with my name (and you shouldn't either!), it is illegal for me to use my position as a public employee to advance my religious or political views, and the pseudonym helps to preserve the distinction between my public and private identities. The pseudonym also helps to protect the people I may write about in describing public or semi-public events I've been involved with.

4 thoughts on “technical support”

  1. It seems to be the combination of these two components

    font-size:0;
    text-indent:-2000px;

    in the “#blog-title a” section of the “custom-css.css” style sheet. You can comment out one or the other of the lines and the problem persists, but it’s fixed if you get rid of both of them. I can’t figure out why.

    Like

  2. It seems to be working for me now. My guess is that there was a problem with the server that serves the files. If all of the formatting was the same and the only difference was that the image didn’t show up, then it suggests that it was not a CSS problem, but a file problem.

    This support forum seems to suggest that this is the case and that it was a larger problem in a large portion of wordpress.com’s sites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

