rights and responsibilities

Mom (a pseudonym; it’s not my actual mother) once gave me the excellent idea for celebrating Kid’s birthday by making a declaration of the new Rights and Responsibilities that come with being each age.  Since then, we’ve made good use of this tool, giving him responsibility for making his own bed, pick his own clothes, etc., and giving him exciting rights like choosing family activities on the weekend. We make up a fancy certificate and hang it up on his wall.

It’s that time again, and I’m down one right, after being called out by both Mom and Husband for putting “serve your own breakfast” into the rights column.  Any ideas for a 6 year old?

5 thoughts on “rights and responsibilities”

  1. I guess we’d need to know the full list of rights he has already.

    I guess I would have been most excited to the right to check out more books at the library (do they still limit by age?), or to read chapter books… something like that. But I don’t know your book practices.

    Like

  2. I’m with you on the breakfast thing, because presumably this means he gets to choose his breakfast which seems to me a right. My suggestion would have been a cooking related thing for a right–for example, our kid recently *got* to flip the pancakes while they were cooking on the stove, and occasionally she *gets* to put the noodles into the boiling water. She views these as privileges that have come with age (but she’s only 4, so maybe they move into tiresome responsibilities by the time you are 6).

    Like

  3. Yes, Kid loves his chances to do something, but I had to be honest with myself. Kid already gets to pick his yogurt, fruit and cereal. We just serve it up for him like servants.

    Thanks so much for the ideas. The final version now includes checking out your own library card and crossing our street–he has been an “apprentice crosser” for several months now.

    Birthday party is tomorrow at the bowling alley. Cake is in the oven now. I hope I’m not forgetting anything.

    Like

Leave a Reply

