xmas at the freese family farm

So, given the retail-sector of some key family members, we had Xmas this weekend back on the farm. Because I was in Australia last Xmas, I had a year and a half worth of travel presents to give away, from Taiwan, Australia, and Malawi. In many cases, I had bought a gift knowing I’d give it to somebody without knowing whom. An example would be a stone-carved hippopotomus from Malawi that I was wrapping while my mother sat at the kitchen table:

“Mom, who should I give this hippo to?”
“That’s real art, there. I sure hope whoever gets that appreciates it.”
[a minute later, as I wrap and fuss with other things]
“I mean, that’s authentic art, there. I sure hope whoever gets it appreciates it.”
[a minute later, me wrapping and scotch-taping]
“Someone went to a lot of trouble making that. I sure hope whoever gets it appreciates it.”
“Would you like me to give it to you, Mom?”
“Well.”

Author: jeremy

I am the Ethel and John Lindgren Professor of Sociology and a Faculty Fellow in the Institute for Policy Research at Northwestern University.

3 thoughts on “xmas at the freese family farm”

  1. Cute. I do hope though that you didn’t actually ask her and just put her name on the packaging. Otherwise, next time I find some pretty malted milk balls, I might just have to call you up to ask you if you knew anyone who might appreciate it.;)

    In other Malawi stone-carved animal news, I would like to think that the turtle traveled half the world knowing exactly where it would end up.;-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

