finally, a chance to benefit from my misspent youth

At a lot of colleges nation wide the effort is being made to tighten up online security. I can’t really object to this, save to observe that the end result is almost never as good as one might hope. Part of these security improvement efforts, however, is almost always a drive towards “more secure passwords” where “more secure” is defined as “pretty much impossible to remember without writing it down.” And it goes without saying that writing down your password is at best unwise and at worst a violation of the university code.*

Oddly, however, I am not troubled by these increasingly ornery passwords. Why? Because as a young man I rather foolishly wished to be a science fiction writer. And while my career as a writer never amounted to much, it is now paying off in one dramatic way: I have a simply gigantic backlog of nonsense words at my disposal.

I mean, seriously, do you have any idea what it’s like to have fake alien names stuck in your brain for close to twenty years? Finally- a chance to get some use out of them!

* "Bad boys, bad boys. Whatcha gonna do? Whatcha gonna do when they come for you?"

1 thought on “finally, a chance to benefit from my misspent youth”

Leave a Reply

