asa baseball is back

You might think that we have abandoned the scatterplot tradition of organizing a trip to a baseball game during the ASA, but no! The ASA’s move to Las Vegas foiled our plans last year, but we are back on track in 2012, and I am especially excited because I have never, ever been to Coors Field. Ohmigodimgonnadieofexcitement!

I am tempted to suggest the Sunday afternoon game (a day game? in a new stadium? *breathe, breathe*), even though we would need to buy the tickets before the ASA program comes out, as we always do. However, I am willing to be talked down from that plan–here is the schedule. So, who is joining me?

We can chat in the comments about when a good time would be. I’ll be at the Sexualities mini-conference that starts on Wednesday Aug 15, so there are a lot of games to choose from. I’ll buy a group of tickets for anyone who wants one, and you can pay me back thru PayPal. Just send me an email to fetner @ gmail.com.

I am very serious that I do not need to know you personally. If you are reading this and would like to go to the game, I want you to join us. Can someone who has signed up as a stranger in past years please vouch for this in the comments? People feel shy arranging meetups over the internet.

UPDATE: I was so dizzy with baseball fever when I wrote this that I forgot to mention that Coors Field is in downtown Denver. It’s only a 22-minute walk from the conference.

12 Comments

  1. Posted March 2, 2012 at 11:10 am | Permalink

    Count me in!

    Like

  2. Posted March 2, 2012 at 11:30 am | Permalink

    Me too!

    Like

  3. Posted March 2, 2012 at 3:08 pm | Permalink

    I’m down with going to a baseball game Thursday night if everyone else is okay with it. The advantage of doing a Thursday night game is that it wouldn’t interfere with receptions, but whatever, I’ll miss receptions to go to the game if that’s what the majority wants to do.

    Like

    • Noah
      Posted March 3, 2012 at 2:12 pm | Permalink

      Brayden, I can see how Thursday night has advantages, if people will have arrived in Denver in time. I seem to remember a lot of Friday or early Saturday arrivals last year. Maybe Friday night would work better?

      Like

  4. Noah
    Posted March 2, 2012 at 3:39 pm | Permalink

    Take me out to the ballgame. Take me out with the (Scatterplot) crowd…

    Like

  5. Posted March 2, 2012 at 4:16 pm | Permalink

    i have signed up as a stranger in the past, and had fun and did not get kidnapped.

    Like

  6. Posted March 5, 2012 at 8:36 am | Permalink

    We have a party of 8 gathered so far, but some disagreement over Thursday, when we know it won’t conflict with other ASA events, and Friday, when we know everyone will be in town. Make your preferences known!

    Like

  7. Posted March 5, 2012 at 8:22 pm | Permalink

    I find myself “in” as well.

    Like

  8. Posted March 7, 2012 at 9:42 am | Permalink

    I don’t know my schedule yet, but I’m in if possible.

    Like

  9. Posted March 7, 2012 at 10:40 am | Permalink

    You are getting slow in your old age, Drek. But you are in.

    Friday is emerging as the top choice for game day. 6:40pm vs. the Florida Marlins. Speak now or forever hold your peace. Or buy your own ticket separately and meet us there…no big whoop.

    Like

  10. Jenn Lena
    Posted March 8, 2012 at 9:27 am | Permalink

    I’m in too, as long as you hit a ticket price under/around $25.

    Like

  11. Posted March 9, 2012 at 8:24 am | Permalink

    I think I voted for Sunday, mostly because day baseball is always my favorite…but as far as going with the group, I’m happy with any of the choices.

    Like

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,315 other followers

